Ensembles | Artists

Castalian Quartet

Sini Simonen (Violine), Daniel Roberts (Violine), Charlotte Bonneton (Viola), Christopher Graves (Violoncello)

Debut at Zaubersee: 23 May 2019

In 2018 the Castalian Quartet received the prestigious inaugural Merito String Quartet Award & Valentin Erben Prize and won a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship Award.

This season the Quartet give debut concerts in North America (Phillips Collection Washington D.C. and Lincoln Center New York), the Salle Bourgie in Montreal, Vancouver Recital Society, Konzerthaus Vienna, Theatre d’Orleons, Louvre in Paris, Flagey in Brussels and Lucerne. They appear regularly at Wigmore Hall in the main series and return to Snape Maltings and Saffron Hall.

The Quartet has performed widely throughout Europe as part of the Hamburg Chamber Music Series, International Musikfest Goslar, Sommerliche Musiktage Hitzacker, Quartet affairs in Frankfurt (broadcast by NDR), French festivals in Queille and Conques, the Aldeburgh, East Neuk, North Norfolk and Peasmarsh Festivals. In 2017 they were resident at the Esbjerg international Chamber Music Festival in Denmark, Festival Musique d'Été à Suzette near Avignon and Snape Maltings. They have collaborated with Nils Mönkemeyer, Alasdair Beatson, Simon Rowland-Jones, Daniel Lebhardt and Olivier Stankiewicz, among many others.

Formed in 2011, the Castalian Quartet studied with Oliver Wille (Kuss Quartet) at the Hannover University of Music, Drama and Media, graduating with a Master’s degree. Awards include 3rd Prize at the 2016 Banff Quartet Competition and 1st Prize at the 2015 Lyon Chamber Music Competition.

Ensembles | Künstler

Castalian Quartet

Sini Simonen (Violine), Daniel Roberts (Violine), Charlotte Bonneton (Viola), Christopher Graves (Violoncello)

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 23. Mai 2019

2018 gewann das Castalian Quartet den ersten Merito String Quartet Award/Valentin Erben Prize und erhielt im selben Jahr ein Borletti-Buitoni-Stipendium.

Während dieser Konzertsaison gibt das Pacifica Quartet in der Phillips Collection in Washington D.C. und am Lincoln Center in New York sein Nordamerika-Debut. Es tritt in der Salle Bourgie in Montreal auf, bei der Vancouver Recital Society, am Konzerthaus Wien, am Théâtre d’Orléans, am Louvre in Paris, am Flagey in Brüssel sowie in Luzern. Es gibt zudem regelmässig Kammermusikkonzerte in der Wigmore Hall und ist auch wieder in der Snape Maltings Hall und in der Saffron Hall zu hören.

Das Quartett hat im Rahmen der Hamburg Chamber Music Series in ganz Europa musiziert. Es trat am internationalen Musikfest Goslar auf, an den Sommerlichen Musiktagen Hitzacker, den (vom NDR übertragenen) Quartetaffairs in Frankfurt, dem Festival de Musique de Conques und dem Queille Festival in Frankreich sowie den Festivals in Aldeburgh, East Neuk, North Norfolk und Peasmarsh. 2017 waren das Quartett zu Gast am Esbjerg International Chamber Music Festival in Dänemark, am Festival Musique d'Été à Suzette in der Nähe von Avignon und in der Snape Maltings Hall. Es trat schon mit den Musikern Nils Mönkemeyer, Alasdair Beatson, Simon Rowland-Jones, Daniel Lebhardt, Olivier Stankiewicz und vielen weiteren auf.

2011 gegründet, studierte das Castalian Quartet bei Oliver Wille (Kuss Quartett) an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover und schloss mit einem Master ab. 2016 war es Preisträger des Banff Streichquartett-Wettbewerbs und gewann 2015 den ersten Preis am Kammermusik-Wettbewerb in Lyon.