Ensembles | Artists

Pacifica Quartet

Simin Ganatra (Violine), Austin Hartman (Violine), Mark Holloway (Viola), Brandon Vamos (Violoncello)

Debut at Zaubersee: 23 May 2019

Recognized for its virtuosity, exuberant performance style, and often-daring repertory choices, over the past two decades the Pacifica Quartet has achieved international recognition as one of the finest chamber ensembles performing today.

Named the quartet-in-residence at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music in March 2012, the Pacifica was previously the quartet-in-residence at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and received a Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance. In 2017, the Pacifica Quartet was appointed to lead the Center for Advanced Quartet Studies at the Aspen Music Festival and School.

Formed in 1994, the Pacifica Quartet quickly won chamber music’s top competitions, including the 1998 Naumburg Chamber Music Award. In 2002 the ensemble was honored with Chamber Music America’s Cleveland Quartet Award and the appointment to Lincoln Center’s CMS Two, and in 2006 was awarded a prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant. Also in 2006 the Quartet was featured on the cover of Gramophone and heralded as one of “five new quartets you should know about,” the only American quartet to make the list. And in 2009, the Quartet was named “Ensemble of the Year” by Musical America.

The members of the Pacifica Quartet live in Bloomington, IN, where they serve as quartet-in-residence and full-time faculty members at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music.

The Pacifica Quartet is endorsed by D’Addario and proudly uses their strings.

Ensembles | Künstler

Pacifica Quartet

Simin Ganatra (Violine), Austin Hartman (Violine), Mark Holloway (Viola), Brandon Vamos (Violoncello)

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 23. Mai 2019

Das für seine Virtuosität, seine mitreissenden Auftritte und oft eigenwillige Repertoireauswahl bekannte amerikanische Pacifica Quartet gilt international als eines der herausragendsten Kammermusikensembles der Gegenwart.

Nach einer Residenz am Metropolitan Museum of Art und einem Grammy für den besten Kammermusikauftritt brachte eine Gastresidenz das Quartett im März 2012 an die Jacob’s School of Music der Indiana State University. 2017 wurde ihm vom Aspen Music Festival and School die Leitung des Center for Advanced Quartet Studies übertragen.

1994 gegründet, gewann das Pacifica Quartet innerhalb kürzester Zeit die weltweit bedeutendsten Preise, unter anderem den Naumburg Chamber Music Award. 2002 wurde das Quartett mit dem Cleveland Quartet Award ausgezeichnet und bekam 2006 das angesehene Avery-Fisher-Stipendium zugesprochen. Ebenfalls 2006 war das Quartett auf dem Cover von Gramophone abgebildet und als einziges amerikanisches Quartett unter den «Fünf neuen Quartetten, die man kennen sollte». 2009 ernannte Musical America das Quartett schliesslich zum Ensemble des Jahres.

Die Mitglieder des Pacifica Quartet leben in Bloomington, Indiana, wo sie in einer Residenz an der Indiana University Im Vollzeitpensum an der Jacob’s School of Music unterrichten.

Das Pacifica Quartet word von D’Addario unterstützt und spielt stolz deren Saiten.