Ensembles | Artists

Ilya Gringolts

Violin

Debut at Zaubersee: 31 May 2018

The Russian violinist Ilya Gringolts studied violin and composition in St. Petersburg and attended the Juilliard School of Music where he studied with Itzhak Perlman. In 1998 he won the International Violin Competition Premio Paganini, as the youngest first prize winner in the history of the competition.

He is devoted to the great orchestral repertoire but also to contemporary and seldom-played works. He has premiered compositions by Peter Maxwell Davies, Augusta Read Thomas, Christophe Bertrand and Michael Jarrell.

Ilya Gringolts has performed with leading orchestras around the world such as the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, BBC Symphony, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Los Angeles Philharmonic, NHK Symphony, the Maler Chamber Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony, the Bamberg Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and Singapore Symphony.

Ilya Gringolts is also first violinist of the Gringolts Quartet, which he founded in 2008 and which has enjoyed great success at the Salzburg Festival, Lucerne Festival, Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Edinburgh Festival and Teatro La Fenice in Venice among others. As a keen chamber musician, Ilya Gringolts collaborates with artists such as Yuri Bashmet, David Kadouch, Nicolas Altstaedt and Jörg Widmann.

Ilya Gringolts plays a Giuseppe Guarneri «del Gesù» violin, Cremona 1742-43, on loan from a private collection.

Ensembles | Künstler

Ilya Gringolts

Violine

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 31. Mai 2018

Ilya Gringolts studierte Violine und Komposition in St. Petersburg und bei Itzhak Perlman an der Juilliard School. 1998 ging er als Gewinner des internationalen Violin-Wettbewerbs «Premio Paganini» hervor, als jüngster Teilnehmer im Finale der Wettbewerbsgeschichte.

Der russische Geiger widmet sich als Solist neben dem grossen Orchesterrepertoire auch selten gespielten und zeitgenössischen Werken. Kompositionen von Peter Maxwell Davies, Augusta Read Thomas, Christophe Bertrand und Michael Jarrell wurden von ihm uraufgeführt.

Ilya Gringolts konzertierte mit Orchestern wie dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, dem BBC Symphony, dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, dem Los Angeles Philharmonic, dem NHK Symphony Orchestra, dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra, dem Sao Paulo State Symphony oder dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Er ist ausserdem Primarius des 2008 gegründeten Gringolts Quartetts, das seither mit Auftritten u.a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, bei Lucerne Festival, dem Menuhin Festival Gstaad oder am Teatro La Fenice in Venedig Erfolge feiert. Als Kammermusiker arbeitet er mit Künstlern wie Yuri Bashmet, David Kadouch, Nicolas Altstaedt oder Jörg Widmann zusammen.

Er spielt eine Violine von Giuseppe Guarneri «del Gesù», Cremona 1742-43, die ihm aus privatem Besitz zur Verfügung gestellt wurde.