Ensembles | Artists

Isabelle Briner

Violin

Debut at Zaubersee: 24 May 2019

Violinist Isabelle Briner was born in Lucerne in 1975. While still studying in Switzerland at the Musik-Akademie Basel (teaching and concert diploma) and in New York at the Manhattan School of Music (Master of Music), she began her career with the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra.

Performances as a soloist and chamber musician followed: at the Internationale Musikfestwochen Luzern, the Stiftung für junge Musiktalente Meggen, the Young Artists in Concert in Davos, the Berliner Festspiele, the Heidelberger Frühling, the Albert Konzerte in Freiburg im Breisgau, the Festival International d'Art Lyrique d'Aix-en-Provence, the Gustav Mahler Musikwochen Toblach and the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

In 1998 Isabelle Briner joined the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, then newly founded by Claudio Abbado, and appeared with this ensemble at the most renowned festivals worldwide until 2017. She has also played with the Lucerne Festival Orchestra since its founding in 2003.

Isabelle Briner also regular performs with her sister Sibylle Briner (piano) and appeared as a duo with violinist Henja Semmler between 1999 and 2004. This ensemble activity was awarded the Premio Franco Gulli in 2004. In the same year, the European Foundation for Culture singled her out for her immense talent and outstanding achievement. In 2012 Isabelle Briner joined forces with the cellist Eva Zahn (Principal Cello at the Teatro Comunale di Bologna) to establish a chamber music ensemble that ranges in size between a piano trio and a quintet.

Ensembles | Künstler

Isabelle Briner

Violine

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 24. Mai 2019

Die Geigerin Isabelle Briner wurde 1975 in Luzern geboren. Noch während der Studien in der Schweiz (Musik-Akademie Basel, Lehr- und Konzertreifediplom) und in Amerika (Manhattan School of Music in New York, Master of Music) begann sie ihre Berufslaufbahn beim Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester.

Auftritte als Solistin und Kammermusikerin folgten: an den Internationalen Musikfestwochen Luzern, bei der Stiftung für junge Musiktalente Meggen, bei Young Artists in Concert in Davos, an den Berliner Festwochen, am Heidelberger Frühling, im Rahmen der Albert Konzerte in Freiburg i. Br., am Festival International d’Art Lyrique d’Aix-en-Provence, an den Gustav Mahler Musikwochen Toblach und den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

1998 wurde Isabelle Briner Mitglied des von Claudio Abbado neu gegründeten Mahler Chamber Orchestra und gastierte mit diesem Ensemble bis 2017 an den renommiertesten Festivals weltweit. Seit der Gründung 2003 spielt die Geigerin zudem im Lucerne Festival Orchestra.

Isabelle Briner ist ausserdem regelmässig bei Auftritten mit ihrer Schwester Sibylle Briner (Klavier) zu hören und musizierte von 1999 bis 2004 im Duo mit der Geigerin Henja Semmler. Diese Ensembletätigkeit wurde 2004 mit dem Premio Franco Gulli ausgezeichnet. Im selben Jahr verlieh ihr die Europäische Kulturstiftung den Förderpreis für grosses künstlerisches Talent und herausragende Leistung. Isabelle Briner gründete 2012 mit der Cellistin Eva Zahn (erste Cellistin am Teatro Comunale di Bologna) ein variables Kammermusikensemble, das vom Klaviertrio bis zum Quintett reicht.