Ensembles | Artists

Stefan Arzberger

Violin

Debut at Zaubersee: 24 May 2019

Stefan Arzberger was born in Rodewisch in the Vogt District of Saxony, Germany in 1972. Aged four, he received his first violin lessons at the Robert Schumann Conservatory in Zwickau.

1989 he startet his studies under Professor Klaus Hertel at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy" Leipzig. During this time he joined the European Community Chamber Orchestra and was appointed concertmaster (leader) of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra. There followed an engagement with the Gewandhausorchester in Leipzig in 1992, latterly as deputy first concertmaster.

As a member of various ensembles (Gewandhaus Octet, Sinfonietta Leipzig, Arzberg Quartet, Leipzig Baroque Soloists), he has devoted his attention to chamber and contemporary music. Stefan Arzberger has been a member of the Bayreuth Festival Orchestra since 1997, and since 2003 of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra under the direction of Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Chailly, Anris Nelson and Bernhard Haitink.

He has lectured at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy" Leipzig since 2005. In 2008 Stefan Arzberger followed the call of the Leipzig String Quartet as Primarius. From 2016-2018 he was concertmaster of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. Since 2019 Stefan Arzberger is first concertmaster at the Deutsche Oper Berlin and for the winter semester 2019 the call to the Hochschule für Musik in Mannheim took place.

Ensembles | Künstler

Stefan Arzberger

Violine

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 24. Mai 2019

Stefan Arzberger wurde 1972 in Rodewisch im Vogtlandkreis geboren. Er erhielt im Alter von vier Jahren seinen ersten Geigenunterricht am Robert Schumann Konservatorium in Zwickau.

1989 folgte das Studium an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater «Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy» Leipzig bei Prof. Klaus Hertel. In dieser Zeit wurde er Mitglied des European Community Chamber Orchestra sowie Konzertmeister des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters. 1992 folgte ein Engagement beim Gewandhausorchester in Leipzig, zuletzt als stellvertretender erster Konzertmeister.

Als Mitglied diverser Ensembles (Gewandhaus-Oktett, Sinfonietta Leipzig, Arzberger-Quartett, Leipziger Barocksolisten) widmete er sich der Kammermusik und der zeitgenössischen Musik. Seit 1997 ist Stefan Arzberger Mitglied des Orchesters der Bayreuther Festspiele und seit 2003 Mitglied des Lucerne Festival Orchestra unter der Leitung von Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Chailly, Anris Nelson und Bernhard Haitink.

Seit 2005 ist er Lehrbeauftragter an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig «Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy» Leipzig. 2008 folgte Stefan Arzberger dem Ruf des Leipziger Streichquartett’s als Primarius. Von 2016-2018 war er Konzertmeister des Sinfonieorchesters des Bayrischen Rundfunks. Seit 2019 ist Stefan Arzberger Erster Konzertmeister an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und zum Wintersemester 2019 erfolgte der Ruf an die Hochschule für Musik in Mannheim.