Ensembles | Artists

Steven Isserlis

Violoncello

Debut at Zaubersee: 26 May 2019

Acclaimed worldwide for his profound musicianship and technical mastery, British cellist Steven Isserlis enjoys a unique and distinguished career as a soloist, chamber musician, educator, author and broadcaster.

As a concerto soloist he appears regularly with the world’s leading orchestras and conductors, including the Berlin Philharmonic, National Symphony Orchestra Washington, London Philharmonic and Zurich Tonhalle orchestras. He gives recitals every season in major musical centres, and plays with many of the world’s foremost chamber orchestras, including the Australian, Mahler, Norwegian, Scottish, Zurich and St Paul Chamber Orchestras.

As a chamber musician, he has curated series for many of the world’s most famous festivals and venues. For these concerts Steven is joined by a regular group of friends which includes the violinists Joshua Bell, Isabelle Faust, Pamela Frank, and Janine Jansen, violist Tabea Zimmermann, and pianists Jeremy Denk, Stephen Hough, Alexander Melnikov, Olli Mustonen, Connie Shih, and Dénes Várjon.

He takes a strong interest in authentic performance and he is also a keen exponent of contemporary music. Writing and playing for children is another major enthusiasm. As an educator Steven Isserlis gives frequent masterclasses all around the world and is the recipient of many awards.

He gives most of his concerts on the Marquis de Corberon (Nelsova) Stradivarius of 1726, kindly loaned to him by the Royal Academy of Music in London.

Ensembles | Künstler

Steven Isserlis

Violoncello

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 26. Mai 2019

Weltweit anerkannt für seine Technik und sein musikalisches Können, kann der britische Cellist Steven Isserlis auf eine grosse Karriere als Solist, Kammermusiker, Lehrer und Autor und Medienstar zurückblicken.

Als Konzertsolist musiziert Isserlis regelmässig mit führenden Orchestern und Dirigenten auf der ganzen Welt, unter anderem mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem National Symphony Orchestra aus Washington, dem Londoner Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Zürcher Tonhalle-Orchester. Er tritt jedes Jahr in den grossen musikalischen Zentren und mit den weltbesten Kammermusikorchestern auf, darunter das Australische, das Norwegische, das Schottische und das Zürcher Kammerorchester sowie das Mahler und das St. Paul Chamber Orchestra.

Als Kammermusiker hat Isserlis schon Programme für die bekanntesten Festivals und Spielorte gestaltet. An diesen Konzerten musiziert er mit befreundeten Musikerinnen und Musikern wie dem Violinisten Joshua Bell, den Violinistinnen Isabelle Faust, Pamela Frank und Janine Jansen, der Bratschistin Tabea Zimmermann und den Pianisten Jeremy Denk, Stephen Hough, Alexander Melnikow, Olli Mustonen, Connie Shih und Dénes Várjon.

Isserlis beschäftigt sich intensiv mit authentischer Aufführungspraxis und zeitgenössischer Musik. Er komponiert und musiziert ausserordentlich gerne für Kinder. Zudem gibt er sein Wissen auf der ganzen Welt in Masterkursen weiter und hat schon viele Preise erhalten.

Isserlis spielt die meisten seiner Konzerte auf dem Marquis de Corberon (vorher Nelsova). Das Stradivari-Cello von 1726 ist eine Leihgabe der Royal Academy of Music in London.