Ensembles | Artists

Julia Pevzner

Stage Director

Debut at Zaubersee: 26 May 2017

Julia Pevzner’s recent work as stage director includes Rimsky-Korsakov’s Tsar’s Bride at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, Rossini’s L’italiana in Algeri at the Indiana University Opera Theatre, Shostakovich’s Lady Macbeth of Mzensk at the Israeli Opera, Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov at the Chicago Lyric and San Francisco Operas, Donizetti’s Maria Padilla and Shostakovich’s The Nose at the Opera Boston.

Her international operatic debut took place at the Dallas Opera with a production of The Queen of Spades in 2003. She debuted in Europe at Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg with Das Rheingold and Die Walküre later in 2003, and at the Israeli Opera with Painter and the Moon in 2004.

Ms Pevzner has staged a number of Israeli new operas as well as plays and musicals. In 2010, she was Artistic Director of the Upper Galilee Voice of Music Festival for Children. In 2011–13, she was Artistic Director of the Jerusalem Opera, and in 2013 she was Artistic Advisor of the Red Sea Classical Festival. Since 2016, she is Head of Productions at the Israeli Opera.

Born in Russia, Ms Pevzner immigrated to Israel in 1991 and speaks Hebrew, English, French, Italian and Russian. She is a graduate of the Rimsky-Korsakov College of Music in St. Petersburg (Piano and Musicology departments) and holds a B.A. degree of the Tel Aviv University (Linguistics and French Literature Department) as well as an Art Management Diploma (the Recanati Management Department). She began her operatic career as a house producer at the Israeli Opera in 1994.

Ensembles | Künstler

Julia Pevzner

Szenische Einrichtung

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 26. Mai 2017

Unter Julia Pevzners jüngsten Regiearbeiten finden sich Rimsky-Korsakows Die Zarenbraut am Bolschoi-Theater in Moskau, Rossinis L’Italiana in Algeri am Indiana University Opera Theatre, Schostakowitschs Lady Macbeth von Mzensk an der Israeli Opera, Mussorgskys Boris Godunow an der Chicago Lyric Opera und an der San Francisco Opera sowie Donizettis Maria Padilla und Schostakowitschs Die Nase an der Opera Boston.

Ihr internationales Operndebüt gab sie 2003 mit einer Produktion von Pique Dame an der Dallas Opera. In Europa waren ihre ersten Regiearbeiten im selben Jahr Das Rheingold und Die Walküre am Mariinsky-Theater. An der Israeli Opera war 2004 erstmals eine Arbeit von ihr zu sehen, Painter and the Moon. Julia Pevzner hat zudem eine Reihe junger israelischer Opern, Theaterstücke und Musicals auf die Bühne gebracht.

Im Jahr 2010 war sie künstlerische Leiterin des Upper Galilee Voice of Music Festival for Children und von 2011 bis 2013 in derselben Funktion an der Jerusalem Opera tätig, 2013 überdies künstlerische Beraterin am Red Sea Classical Festival. Seit 2016 ist sie Produktionsleiterin an der Israeli Opera.

Julia Pevzner ist gebürtige Russin, sie emigrierte 1991 nach Israel. Sie spricht Hebräisch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch und Russisch, besitzt ein Diplom in Klavier und Musiktheorie des Rimsky-Korsakow-Konservatoriums in St. Petersburg und einen Bachelor in Linguistik und französischer Literatur sowie ein Art-Management-Diplom im Rahmen des Recanati-Management-Programms der Universität Tel Aviv. Ihre Opernlaufbahn begann sie als 1994 als Produzentin an der Israeli Opera.