Ensembles | Artists

Maria Meerovitch

Piano

Debut at Zaubersee: 17 May 2020

Maria Meerovitch was born in St.Petersburg to non-musicians family. Nevertheless, music has been an important part of family’s life and at the age of six Meerovitch began her musical education. At the age of eight she performed at St.Petersburg Philharmonic Hall for the first time.

She continued her studies at St.Petersburg Conservatory’s junior Music Institute with M.Freindling and M.Lebed and later under Prof. Anatol Ugorski at the Rimsky-Korsakov St.Petersburg State Conservatory, with piano as principal subject.

In 1990 Meerovitch came to Belgium after having received a scholarship from “Fonds Alex de Vries”- Y.Menuhin Foundation, graduated from the Royal Conservatory of Antwerp (cum laude) and immediately began teaching piano and chamber music at the same institution.

She subsequently won first prizes at several International Competitions (G.B. Viotti, Italy; Ch. Hennen, the Netherlands) and has been performing around the world ever since appearing in solo and chamber music recitals in the USA, Japan, Taiwan, Brazil, The Republic of South Africa, South Korea, Israel and Europe.

Ensembles | Künstler

Maria Meerovitch

Klavier

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 17. Mai 2020

Die aus St. Petersburg stammende Pianistin Maria Meerovitch kommt zwar nicht aus einer Musikerfamilie, trotzdem spielte die Musik in ihrer Familie eine wichtige Rolle. Meerovitch begann ihre musikalische Ausbildung schon im Alter von sechs Jahren und mit acht trat sie zum ersten Mal in der St. Petersburger Philharmonie auf.

Meerovitch studierte zuerst am Nachwuchsinstitut des St. Petersburger Konservatoriums bei M. Freindling und M. Lebed, später bei Professor Anatol Ugorski am Staatlichen St. Petersburger Konservatorium.

1990 erhielt Meerovitch ein Stipendium des Alex de Vries-Fonds der Yehudi Menuhin-Stiftung und ging nach Belgien. Ihre Ausbildung am königlichen Konservatorium in Antwerpen schloss sie denn auch mit Auszeichnung ab und wurde sofort als Dozentin für Klavier und Kammermusik angestellt.

In der Folge gewann sie an verschiedenen internationalen Wettbewerben erste Preise (unter anderem den G.B. Viotti-Preis in Italien und den Ch. Hennen-Wettbewerb in den Niederlanden) und trat weltweit als Solistin und Kammermusikerin auf, so in den USA, in Japan, Taiwan, Brasilien, Südafrika, Südkorea, Israel und ganz Europa.