Ensembles | Artists

Nicholas Angelich

Piano

Debut at Zaubersee: 22 May 2013

Born in the USA in 1970, Nicholas Angelich began studying piano at age five. Two years later he played his first concert, and at thirteen began studying with Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, and Michel Béroff at the Paris Conservatoire and in masterclasses with Leon Fleisher, Dmitri Bashkirov, and Maria João Pires.

He is a prizewinner of numerous piano competitions, including the International Piano Competition R. Casadesus in Cleveland and the International Piano Competition Gina Bachauer in Utah. In 2003, he received the «International Klavierfestival Ruhr – Young Talent Award».

Mr. Angelich has performed with many orchestras in Europe and North America including the Orchestre National de France under Marc Minkowski and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France under Paavo Järvi. He made his New York debut with the New York Philharmonic and Kurt Masur in 2003 and toured Japan with Masur and the Orchestre National de France in 2004. His classical and romantic performances feature the works of Beethoven and Liszt. He has also gained recognition for his interpretation of 20th century music, including the work of Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, and Shostakovich.

Mr. Angelich’s chamber collaborations include performances with Dmitri Sitkovetsky, Augustin Dumay, Gérard Caussé, the Ysaÿe and Pražák Quartets, and Gautier and Renaud Capuçon. His recording of the Brahms Trios with the Capuçons for Virgin Classics was awarded the German Record Critics’ Prize. www.emiclassics.de/nicholasangelich

Ensembles | Künstler

Nicholas Angelich

Klavier

Debüt bei Zaubersee: 22. Mai 2013

Der 1970 in den USA geborene Pianist Nicholas Angelich begann im Alter von fünf Jahren mit Klavierunterricht. Zwei Jahre später gab er sein erstes Konzert, und ab dreizehn studierte er am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris bei Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod und Michel Béroff und besuchte Meisterklassen bei Dmitri Baschkirow, Leon Fleisher und Maria João Pires.

Angelich hat zahlreiche Wettbewerbe gewonnen, darunter den internationalen Robert-Casadesus-Klavierwettbewerb in Cleveland und den internationalen Gina-Bachauer-Klavierwettbewerb in Utah. Im Jahr 2002 wurde ihm der «Young Talent Award» des Klavierfestivals Ruhr zugesprochen.

Angelich ist regelmässig zu Gast bei führenden Orchestern in Europa und Nordamerika und konzertierte etwa mit dem Orchestre National de France unter der Leitung von Marc Minkowski und dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France unter Paavo Järvi. Im Mai 2003 debütierte er mit dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra unter der Leitung von Kurt Masur und ging 2004 mit Masur und dem Orchestre National de France auf Japan-Tournee. Seine Konzerte mit klassischem und romantischem Repertoire behandeln die Werke von Beethoven und Liszt. Er ist zudem bekannt als Interpret der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts, beispielsweise von Rachmaninow, Prokofjew oder Schostakowitsch.

Als Kammermusiker arbeitet Nicholas Angelich regelmässig mit Künstlern wie Dmitri Sitkovetsky, Augustin Dumay, Gérard Caussé, mit dem Ysaÿe-Quartett und dem Pražák-Quartett sowie mit Gautier und Renaud Capuçon zusammen. Seine Aufnahme der Klaviertrios von Brahms mit den Brüdern Capuçon für Virgin Classics erhielt einen Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.