Programme & Tickets

Thursday, 14. May 2020, 19:30
Hotel Schweizerhof, Zeugheersaal

The Piano at the Fin de Siècle

César Franck (1822 – 1890)
Prelude, Fugue and Variation, Op. 18 (1860-1862)

Alexander Skriabin (1872 – 1915)
From the Twelve Etudes, Op. 8 (1894)
Etude No. 2 in F-sharp minor
Etude No. 4 in B major
Etude No. 7 in B-flat minor
Etude No. 10 in D-flat major
Etude No. 11 in B-flat minor
Sonata No. 3 in F-sharp minor, Op. 23 (1897/98)

Alexander Glazunov (1865 – 1936)
Sonata No. 2 in E minor, Op. 75 (1901)

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 – 1943)
From the Ten Preludes, Op. 23 (1903)
Prelude No. 1 in F-sharp minor
Prelude Nr. 6 in E-flat major
Prelude Nr. 7 in C minor
Prelude Nr. 4 in D major
Prelude Nr. 5 in G minor

One of the foremost pianists of our time, Nikolai Lugansky, brings together old favourites and less familiar pieces from the Golden Age of piano music. Franck’s Prelude, Fugue and Variation was first conceived as an organ piece (Franck was organist at Ste Clotilde, Paris), but his piano version of the work is equally convincing, and there are many echoes of J.S. Bach. Scriabin’s early set of Etudes are a worthy successor to Chopin’s, although the updating of the style is very much evident in the new harmonies, rhythms and textures. In his Third Sonata, Scriabin has a larger canvas, and his imposing, Romantic piano writing reaches an unprecedented intensity. Glazunov’s monumental Sonata No.2, which is rarely heard, has both Chopin and Bach in its pedigree: mixing a profound nostalgia with more sober contrapuntal passages. Finally, a selection of Rachmaninov’s most memorable preludes completes the evening.

Dinner: 17.30
Before the concert the Hotel Schweizerhof offers an exclusive two-course meal.
CHF 65 (excl. drinks)

Ticket Refund

Ticket Office
+41 41 226 05 15
Form for ticket refund

Opening hours
Monday - Friday
9.00 – 12.00