Programme & Tickets

Thursday, 23. May 2019, 19:30
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern, Zeugheersaal

A Tribute to Leo Ornstein

Mieczysław Weinberg (1919 – 1996)
From the 24 Preludes for Solo Violoncello, Op. 100
(arr. for violin):
Nos. 1–4 and No. 21

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
String Quartet No. 7 in F Major, Op. 59 No. 1

Leo Ornstein (1892– 2002)
Piano Quintet, Op. 92

One of Beethoven’s towering masterpieces, the first “Razumovsky” quartet, shares the platform here with works by two intriguing 20th-century composers, whose work has only recently been revived. Weinberg’s aphoristic yet intense Preludes for Solo Cello are part of a grand cycle in all the keys, and are played here in an arrangement for violin. The greatest surprise of the programme is Ornstein’s Piano Quintet, a piece from the 1920s that alternates between the “bad boy” modernism that earned him his early fame, and some highly expressive lyrical passages, displaying a rounded portrait of this musical maverick.

Dinner: 17:30
Before the concert the Hotel Schweizerhof offers an exclusive three-course meal.
CHF 80 (excl. drinks)


Category 1 – CHF 65
Category 2 – CHF 45