Programme & Tickets

Saturday, 25. May 2019, 19:30
KKL Luzern, Konzertsaal

Masterpieces from Finland and Russia

Symphony Concert

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975)
Scherzo in F-sharp minor, Op. 1 (1919)

Sergei Prokofjev (1891 – 1953)
Suite from the opera "The Love for Three Oranges", Op. 33a

Jean Sibelius (1865 – 1957)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor, Op. 47

Dmitri Shostakovich
Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 54

The appetizers in this concert are the two works from the same year, 1919, which is one of the connecting threads for this year’s Festival. Shostakovich’s Scherzo is very accomplished for a mere 13-year old, while for Prokofiev, in his late twenties, that year marked the successful premiere in Chicago of his provocative but charming comic opera, The Love for Three Oranges. Sibelius’s Violin Concerto is on a different scale, a slow-burning piece of symphonic proportions whose beautiful melodies and thrilling virtuosity never fails to grip audiences. Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony has an unusual three-movement form that travels from deeply felt tragedy to raucous fun, presenting Shostakovich’s typical contrasts between introversion and blistering sarcasm.


Category 1 – CHF 150
Category 2 – CHF 125
Category 3 – CHF 90
Category 4 – CHF 55
Category 5 – CHF 25