Programme & Tickets

Saturday, 25. May 2019, 12:30
St. Charles Hall Meggen, Rittersaal

A Tribute to Adolph Brodsky

11.00 Uhr | Introductory talk by Prof. Marina Frolova-Walker

Piotr Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893)
“Souvenir d’un lieu cher”,
three pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 42
Sérénade mélancolique in B-flat minor, Op. 26
(arr. for violin and piano by the composer)

Edvard Grieg (1843 – 1907)
Violin Sonata No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Scherzo from the F-A-E Sonata (1853)

Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919 – 1996)
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3, Op. 37

On Christmas Day 1887, the great violinist Adolph Brodsky invited three composers to have dinner with him: Brahms, Grieg, and Tchaikovsky. In this programme, which is dedicated to Brodsky, they re-unite for our pleasure. You will hear Tchaikovsky’s irresistibly nostalgic pieces, Grieg’s most accomplished violin sonata, full of drama and gorgeous melodies, and Brahms’s muscular Scherzo, which was his contribution to a collectively written sonata. To close, we offer you a rarely performed piece by Weinberg, a disciple of Shostakovich, who surprises here with a moving lyricism that reaches sublime heights by the end.

Lunch: 11:30
Before the concert a light lunch will be available.
CHF 30 (4 variations incl. 1 drink)


Category 1 – CHF 45
Category 2 – CHF 30