Programme & Tickets

Friday, 24. May 2019, 19:30
Matthäuskirche Luzern

A Homage to Arthur Lourié

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Three Pieces for Clarinet Solo (1919)

Sergei Prokofjev (1891 – 1953)
Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34 (1919)

Arthur Lourié (1891 – 1966)
Concerto da Camera for Solo Violin and
Strings (1945)

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975)
String Quartet No.7 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 108 (1960)

Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893)
String Sextet in D minor, Op. 70, “Souvenir de

This richly diverse programme of chamber music travels from the arabesques of solo instruments to a fullness of sound that is almost orchestral. In Stravinsky’s Three Pieces the clarinet takes on different guises, and echoes the popular sounds of ragtime, while in Prokofiev’s Overture on Hebrew Themes, it acts as the leader of a klezmer band. Tchaikovsky’s String Sextet mixed his memories of Florence with the Russian sounds that greeted him on his return home. The almost unknown gem by the Russian émigré Arthur Lourié, his Concerto da Camera, is a highly nostalgic attempt to revive the sounds of past times in a fractured world. Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 7, one of his finest, touches still darker notes of isolation and anxiety.

Dinner: 17:30
Before the concert the Hotel Schweizerhof offers an exclusive three-course meal.
CHF 80 (excl. drinks)


Category 1 – CHF 65
Category 2 – CHF 45