Programme & Tickets

Friday, 24. May 2019, 12:30
St. Charles Hall Meggen, Rittersaal

Paris – Moscow

11.00 Uhr | Introductory talk by Prof. Marina Frolova-Walker

Gabriel Fauré (1845 – 1924)
Élégie, Op. 24
Sicilienne, Op. 78 (arr. for Cello and Piano)
Pavane, Op. 50 (arr. for Cello and Piano)
«Papillon» Op. 77

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Parasha’s Aria from the opera «Mavra»,
(arr. for Cello and Piano)

Alexander Tcherepnin (1899 – 1977)
Ode, for Violoncello and Piano, Op. 13 (1919)

Sergei Prokofiev (1891 – 1953)
March from the opera «Love for Three Oranges», Op. 33

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873 – 1943)
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano in G minor, Op. 19

The programme begins with some of the most beautiful melodies created by the Frenchman Gabriel Fauré towards the end of the 19th century. In Russia, Rachmaninov could rival Fauré in evoking a sense of painful longing and loss in his elegiac melodies, and he combined such writing with passionate outbursts and exhilarating virtuosity in his monumental Sonata for Cello and Piano of 1901. This feast of lush melody is offset by the wit and provocation of three maverick Russian émigrés who enriched Parisian musical life during the 1910s and 1920s, namely Stravinsky, Prokofiev and the lesser-known Alexander Tcherepnin.

Lunch: 11:30
Before the concert a light lunch will be available.
CHF 30 (4 variations incl. 1 drink)


Category 1 – CHF 45
Category 2 – CHF 30