Programme & Tickets

Sunday, 26. May 2019, 18:30
Hotel Schweizerhof, Zeugheersaal

Closing Concert: The Russian Cello

Sergei Prokofjev (1891– 1953)
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano in C major, Op. 119

Dmitry Kabalevsky (1804– 1987)
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano in B-flat major, Op. 71

Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840– 893)
Nocturne in D minor, Op. 19 No. 4
(arr. for Violoncello and Piano by the composer)

Jean Sibelius (1865– 1957)
“Malinconia” for Violoncello and Piano, Op. 20

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906– 1975)
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano in D minor, Op. 40

In this final concert of the Zaubersee Festival, two international star soloists team up to present the finest Soviet cello sonatas. Shostakovich wrote his sonata early in his career (1934), and it inaugurated a more melodic and neoclassical style after a period of brash modernism. For Prokofiev, on the contrary, his Cello Sonata proved to be one of his last works, and he was already in his final illness when he composed it, leaving us with a moving message to posterity. Kabalevsky was influenced by Prokofiev’s work when writing his own beautifully wrought Sonata in 1962, which inherited the serious and sincere tone of its model.

Dinner: 20:15
After the concert the Hotel Schweizerhof offers an exclusive three-course meal.
CHF 80 (excl. drinks)


Category 1 – CHF 65
Category 2 – CHF 45