Programme & Tickets

Sunday, 17. May 2020, 11:00
St. Charles Hall Meggen, Rittersaal

Trumpet Calls

11.00 Uhr | Introductory talk by Professor Marina Frolova-Walker (in English)

Igor Stravinsky (1881 – 1971)
Suite for Trumpet, Violin and Piano from L’Histoire du soldat, Mavra and other works (arr. by Dmitry Sitkovetsky, 2019/2020)

Jacov Jacoulov (*1958)
“Yiddish Lexicon” for Flugelhorn, Violin and Piano (2010)

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Trio in E-flat major for Flugelhorn, Violin and Piano, Op. 40 (1865)

The brilliant Russian trumpet virtuoso Sergei Nakariakov has been tirelessly widening his repertoire into the domain of chamber music, with works adapted for the trumpet or for related brass instruments. This time he turned to the master of transcriptions, the distinguished violinist and conductor, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, who came up not only with his own adaptation of the Stravinsky’s Suite from “Soldier’s Tale”, but also with an idea of asking his friend, Jakov Jakoulov, to transcribe Jakoulov’s work The Yiddish Lexicon into the Trio for violin, flugelhorn & piano. The Yiddish Lexicon, by the Moscow-born, Boston-based composer Jakov Jakoulov, is a fascinating 10-movement piece originally written for oboe, bassoon and piano: each of the movements is his musical take on a word or saying in Yiddish. Brahms’s Horn Trio, a serious and moving piece dedicated to the memory of his mother, is played here with flugelhorn (instead of the original French horn). This instrument was popular in Germany during Brahms’s time - it is mellower than the trumpet and blends more easily in traditional chamber ensembles. The trio is rounded off with the sensitive and accomplished piano playing of Maria Meerovitch, one of the most excellent pianists in Belgium.

Coffee/Tea & Croissant: 10.00 Uhr

Ticket Refund

Ticket Office
+41 41 226 05 15
Form for ticket refund

Opening hours
Monday - Friday
9.00 – 12.00