Programme & Tickets

Friday, 28. May 2021, 19:30
St. Charles Hall Meggen

Sold out! – Zaubersee 2021 - Soirée mit Streichern

Boris Brovtsyn, Violin

Gregory Ahss, Violin
Members of Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

This concert will be live streamed free of charge.

Sergei Prokofiev (1891‒1953)
Sonata for Solo Violin in D, Op. 115

Sonata for Two Violins in C, Op. 56

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Serenade in C for Strings, Op. 48

Meditation from Souvenir d'un lieu cher Op. 42, arranged for Solo Violin and Strings

In 1917, the Russian Empire was irrevocably laid to rest, and a new, socialist-Soviet state emerged. As time passed, the arts were subordinated increasingly rigorously to a party policy imposed from above, and any artist, any composer who opposed this ran the risk of being exiled. Yet time and again, ingenious composers like Serge Prokofiev succeeded in subtly circumventing such official doctrines – as can be heard, for example, in his Solo Sonata for Violin of 1947, a masterpiece of the composer’s latter years. The Sonata for Two Violins, on the other hand, was written in exile in Western Europe – in Paris in 1932, to be precise. And that is also apparent in the music, which sounds freer and reflects the avant-garde, modernist tendencies of the time. Tchaikovsky’s popular Serenade for Strings of 1880 transports us into a completely different world: it is a highlight of Russian Romanticism in which we can luxuriate to our hearts’ content. The same is true of his Meditation, composed only two years earlier. Originally intended as the slow movement of Tchaikovsky’s popular Violin Concerto, it is a lyrical gem that beautifully evokes the heyday of the Russian Empire.


Sold out!
This concert will be live streamed free of charge.